Skip to main content

Swansea Bay UHB

The exterior of Swansea Bay University Health Board head office in Baglan, Port Talbot.

Swansea Bay University Health Board (formerly ABMU) was created on April 1, 2019 after responsibility for providing healthcare services in the Bridgend County Borough Council area passed from ABMU to the new Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board.

Swansea Bay UHB covers a population of around 390,000 in the Neath Port Talbot and Swansea areas and we have a budget of around £1bn. The health board employs approximately 12,500 staff.

It has three major hospitals providing a range of services: Morriston and Singleton in Swansea, and Neath Port Talbot Hospital in Baglan, Port Talbot.

We also have a community hospital and primary care resource centres providing clinical services outside the main hospitals.

Primary care independent contractors play an essential role in the care of our population and the health board commissions services from GPs, opticians, pharmacists and dentists across the area.

We have 49 GP practices in our health board area, 72 dental practices including orthodontists, 31 optometry practices and 92 community pharmacies.

Mental health and learning disabilities services are provided both in hospital and community settings.

The Welsh Centre for Burns and Plastic Surgery at Morriston Hospital covers not only south and mid Wales, but the south west of England. Morriston also delivers one of two cardiac surgery services in Wales.

Other specialist services provided by the health board included cleft lip and palate, renal, fertility and bariatric (obesity).

Forensic mental health services are provided to a wider community which extends across the whole of South Wales.

The health board is part of A Regional Collaboration for Health (ARCH), which is a partnership with Hywel Dda University Health Board and Swansea University.

ARCH is a unique collaboration project aimed at improving the health, wealth and wellbeing of south west Wales.

Our board

Emma Woollett, Chair of Swansea Bay University Health Board  Chair: Emma Woollett



An image of Mark Hackett, CEO Chief Executive (CEO): Mark Hackett



Executive Directors

Chief Operating Officer: Inese Robotham


Director of Nursing and Patient Experience Gareth Howells Interim Director of Nursing and Patient Experience: Gareth Howells



An image of Interim Director of Finance Darren Griffiths Director of Finance: Darren Griffiths



Medical Director and Deputy CEO: Richard Evans



Director of Strategy: Sian Harrop-Griffiths



An image of Director of Public Health Keith Reid Director of Public Health: Keith Reid



Director of Workforce and OD: Debbie Eyitayo



Interim Director of Corporate Governance and Board Secretary: Hazel Lloyd



Christine Morrell: Director of Therapies and Health Science, pictured head and torso, facing the camera Director of Therapies and Health Science: Christine Morrell



Associate members of the Executive Team

Director of Digital: Matt John

Interim Director of Communications and Engagement: Nick Samuels

Independent members

Stephen Spill 

Jackie Davies

Maggie Berry

Martyn Waygood

Martin Sollis

Tom Crick

Mark Child

Reena Owen

Nuria Zolle

Keith Lloyd

Associate members

Andrew Jarrett

Alison James

Senior Management Teams 

Primary and Community:

Director: Brian Owens

Nurse Director: Tanya Spriggs

Medical Director: Anjula Mehta

Dental Director: Karl Bishop


Mental Health and Learning Disabilities: 

Director: Dai Roberts

Nurse Director: Stephen Jones

Medical Director: Richard Maggs 


Morriston Hospital: 

Interim Director: Kate Hannam

Nurse Director: Mark Madams

Medical Director: Mark Ramsey 


Singleton Hospital: 

Director: Jan Worthing

Nurse Director: Lesley Jenkins

Medical Director: Mr Dougie Russell


Neath Port Talbot Hospital: 

Director: Jan Worthing

Nurse Director: Lesley Jenkins

Medical Director: Dr Martin Bevan


Our headquarters

Our headquarters is based at:

Swansea Bay Headquarters

1 Talbot Gateway,

Baglan Energy Park,


Port Talbot,

SA12 7BR

Share this page
Find us on